Recent News & Features


Echoes Silence Patience Grace by Foo FightersJuly 31, 2015

For their sixth studio album, Foo Fighters decided to forge an original sound and approach to recording. The result, Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, contains a perfect blend of acoustic and electric elements as well as songs with unique arrangements.

Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace review


This Is It by Michael ShawJuly 13, 2015

Filled with rich compositions and lush arrangements reminiscent of the theatrical rock of the seventies, This Is It is an impressive debut by the California-based rock group called An Intimate Evening with Michael Shaw.

This Is It album review


Choice 5 for July 2015July 5, 2015

July’s all-American Choice 5 features releases from Dream Logic, The Electro-Lights, Invincible Czars, Soapbox Army, and Straight Line Stitch.

Choice 5 for July 2015


BonzJuly 2, 2015

Later this month, Bonz will set off on an extensive tour in support of their recently released album, Broken Silence.

More on the Tour


Knuckle Sandwich by The MelataunsJune 28, 2015

Using a whole bunch of authentic, working musicians from New Orleans’ rich music scene, Knuckle Sandwich by The Melatauns is full of rich music with diverse styles ranging from blues to free-form jazz to new wave pop/rock.

Knuckle Sandwich album review


Episodes by RemanonJune 17, 2015

We launch our brand new “Featured Debut” series with a profile of Episodes, the 2015 EP by the Texas-based prog rock group Remanon, which features complex compositions and virtuoso performances.

Episodes EP feature


Crysis by Modest MidgetJune 11, 2015

The second studio album by Dutch act Modest Midget, the quasi-concept album Crysis features solid compositions, exquisite production, as well as a plethora of diverse musical styles and moods.

Crysis album review


Choice 5 for June 2015June 5, 2015

June’s Choice 5 features releases from Kevlar Bikini, My Own Ghost, Don Paris Schlotman, Siren, and The 1957 Tail-Fin Fiasco.

Choice 5 for June 2015


Farmhouse by PhishMay 31, 2015

Usually known for their long, improvised jams, Phish took a different approach in recording their eighth studio album, Farmhouse. This mid-2000 release contained much shorter and more accessible songs and has fared well enough to be our Modern Classic for May 2015.

Farmhouse review


Grass Routes by KingwhistlerMay 17, 2015

Although credited to the “group” Kingwhistler, the 2014 Grass Routes was fully conceived by composer, vocalist and musician Nick Aliberti. The album is an upbeat, retro sounding piece, utilizing many rock and roots sub-genres and designed in the effect of an American road trip.

Grass Routes review


Choice 5 for May 2015May 5, 2015

May’s Choice 5 features releases from Big Engine, Daylight Robbery, Barry Myers, Chris Nelson and We Live In Sod Houses.

Choice 5 for May 2015


Older Posts

 
River of Rock Music Network banner
Modern Rock Review was launched on October 10, 2010 (10/10/10) and is the oldest member of the River of Rock music network. This site’s original mission was to be a place to construct comprehensive profiles on artists with great talent and longevity. Since then, we have expanded to include several regular features such as Rocking Around the World, and the monthly Choice 5 and Modern Classics, which looks at notable albums released during the 2000s decade. Modern Rock Review covers artists from around the globe and has regular readers from every corner on Earth. We aim to become a respected source of well-written and accurate information for music lovers and historians.

For further information, please fill out the form on our Contact page.

Modern Rock Review online channels
Modern Rock Review on Twitter   Modern Rock Review on Reverb Nation   Modern Rock Review on Facebook   Modern Rock Review on Google+

River of Rock Music Network
Classic Rock Review
Keystone Rock Review
Roots Rock Review
River of Rock website